You are currently viewing Hilton Petone (Division 2) Champions
Photo credit: Mark Ellis

Hilton Petone (Division 2) Champions

  • Post category:Men


Seatoun 3 Upper Hutt 4
Scorers: Donal Gahan, Jacob Marshall (Pen), Rio Winkworth, Sam Patterson

This final was played with no more than 48 hours between Capital Premier fixtures and this game for both teams. So, fatigue was going to play a part or who could last the longest.

Upper Hutt started very well, dominating possession and territory for long periods of the first half. Chances were created via some super combination play in the midfield and our fullbacks getting involved in our attacking movement.

It was, in fact, Jordyn Bentley who made a super run forward from left fullback, receiving a defense splitting pass. Donal Gahan drove forward from midfield to receive a square pass from Jordy to finish superbly into the top corner from the top of the penalty area.

At half time we made two changes – Sam Rausch replaced Hamish Price and Jeremy Fong on for Donal Gahan.

It was Jeremy who created our second goal just two minutes into the half. He received a pass, drove to the goal line, wriggled past his defender along the goalline and was subsequently brought down in the penalty area. PENALTY! Jacob Marshall dispatched to the left of the Seatoun goalkeeper.

Seatoun then had a period of dominance and managed to pull two goals back. It was see-saw football from then on.

Rio Winkworth then scored a super wee goal, chipping the advancing goalkeeper after receiving a nice reverse pass from Jeremy.
But Seatoun then scored a scruffy freekick! Only for Patto to score the winner at the far post from a well taken corner by Jacob.

A good afternoon of football and some silverware for the club.

Thank you to all the supporters who turned up. And to Mark Ellis for the match report and photo.