Foz Says… 22 April 2017

  • Post category:Men

The Capital Premier league is very competitive competition and believe everyone is capable of beating anyone on any given day and it will be a strongly contested title race.


Unfortunately we have been the Jekel and Hyde team this year, down one game up the next and if we wish to be taken seriously we will certainly need to be more consistent with our performances. Last weekend with the Easter Bunny visiting, it had us playing two games, Island Bay (0 – 4) on the Friday which we don’t want to dwell on and Lower Hutt on Monday (3 – 0), with Dave, Jeremy and Benn the scorers.


This was a much improved performance against what appeared to be an even younger team than usual from Lower Hutt. We got off to the perfect start, opening our account in the 2nd minute. The game then ebbed and flowed but felt we were always in control and we got our second right on the stroke of half time.


The second half continued in the same vein and if it wasn’t for their keeper the score could have been much higher than it was.


Today we welcome another title contender in Lloyd and the North Wellington team who have made a solid start to the season and look to be scoring goals for fun. They have recruited very well during the off season, including ex Phoenix / All White player Ben Sigmund. With players of this calibre playing in the Premier league it can only improve the standard. I know as a player I would always enjoy the challenge of pitting myself against that sort of quality.


Hope you enjoy today’s festival of football, with 3 great games to watch, starting with Wendi and the ladies 1st team (who racked up 20 goals last week) up against Seatoun, followed by us, then rounded up with the reserves at 5pm against Petone. Finally thanks to our loyal supporters and good luck to all teams in orange. Look forward to discussing the game with you in the club afterwards.


2017 Parapine ITM Upper Hutt City Football Men’s 1st Team Squad

GK       Logan van der Vegt

Brandon Postlethwaite 

3            Josh Hinton

4            Peter Czerwonka

5            Luke Bradshaw

6            David Lane

7            Sam Patterson

8            Matt Fong

9            Jeremy Fong

10           Dan Close

11           Cameron McLachlan

12           Joe Sambrooke

13           Sam Rausch

14           Bryce Tamahaga

15           Nathan Woods

16           James Bennett

17           Benn Dawson

18           Ben Wood

19           Connor McIndoe

20           Donal Gahan

21           Simon Rippon


Mark Foster
John Milroy
Hamish McLachlan
Dianne Shirer